14 Jun 2017

You can now hide your Photos or Videos indefinitely on Instagram using Archive



Today Instagram rolled out a new feature called "Archive", which let's you hide any of your posts or videos indefinitely from anyone else.

This means that you can archive any photo or video on your profile by tapping the “…” three-dots button in the top right of the post, then selecting “archive”.

                                         

After being archived, these posts move into a special section of the app located at the top right corner of your profile.

                 

The archive page, and all the posts in it, is only visible to you. You choose to  unarchive a photo and “show on your profile”, or just leave it there forever for your eyes only.

                     

Here's why you would  want to archive a photo?

1. You might want to hide a post that didn’t get that many likes,but you want to remember the moment and not lose the memory amongst other photos on your timeline.

2. You may be fighting with or broke up with a significant other and want to take a break from seeing them on your profile without deleting them forever.

3.  You just want to take a total break from social media and archive all your photos for a bit.

Unlike Snapchat’s Memories you can’t post an Instagram directly to the archive folder .You have to post the photo publicly at least for a second so you can switch pages and add it to your archive.

Have you tried out this new feature? share your thoughts below.
Share: